top of page
Beautiful Landscape

विकास और सामाजिक अध्ययन संस्थान

Institute of Development and Social Studies

There are as many as twenty-six (26) autonomous research institutes established all over the country which are supported by government bodies like the Indian Council of Social Science Research. These institutes are set up for enlarging the base of social science knowledge, improving the quality of research, and promoting an interdisciplinary perspective. These institutes constitute an important mechanism for supporting research talents and building up of research capabilities in the different regions of the country, particularly in the areas where social science research is not yet well developed.


These institutes are closely associated with national and state level planning and development agencies, and have thereby strengthened the links between research and policy making. Surprisingly, no such specialised research institute has been initiated in the state of Uttarakhand and none of the ICSSR supported institutes is located in this state.


In order to address this need, a meeting of senior social sciences faculty and research scholars from institutions of Uttarakhand like IIT Roorkee, IIM Kashipur, Uttarakhand Open University, Kumaun University, Uttarakhand Academy of Administration, Nainital, University of Petroleum and Energy studies, Dehradun was held on 29 Dec 2019 at Radhey Hari Government Post Graduate College, Kashipur. It was unanimously decided to establish “Institute of Development & Social Studies” in Uttarakhand. For operational ease and to draw support from other institutions like IIM, it was suggested that the said institute be establish in and around Kashipur under Udham Singh Nagar district.

The major objective of the Institute will be to conduct, sponsor and aid research in the field of social sciences and associated fields, to
cover all aspects of a growing and developing policy, including governance, management, natural resources and organizational problems. Special attention will be paid to comparative analysis, intra-regional, inter-regional and the problems of hilly regions in a developing society. Above all, the accent of the Institute will be on the identification and development of human and natural resources.




Sri D K Srivastava


  1. Nominee of the Government of Uttarakhand 

  2. Nominee of the ICSSR, New Delhi

  3. Nominee of the Indian Institute of Management Kashipur

  4. Dr Deepak Paliwal, Associate Professor of Sociology, IGNOU, New Delhi

  5. Dr Atulan Guha, Chairperson, Economics Area, Indian Institute of Management Kashipur, Kashipur 

  6. Prof Pampa Mukherjee, Professor, Department of Political Science, Panjab University,  Chandigarh

  7. Dr Hiranmoy Roy, School of Business, University of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Dehradun

  8. Dr Arshad Hussain,  Dept of Law, Soban Singh Jeena University, Almora, Uttarakhand

  9. Dr Mahendra Babu Kuruva, Department of Management, HNB Garhwal Central University, Srinagar 

  10. Prof K M Baharul Islam, Indian Institute of Management Kashipur, Kashipur

  11. Dr Rekha Mewafarosh, IIM Kashipur, Kundeswari, Kashipur 244713

  12. Prof Zillur Rahman, Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

  13. Prof Divya Saksena,  Dean, School of Liberal Arts, IMS Unison University, Dehradun

  14. Sri Akhilesh Singh Butola, Rishikesh-249201 [Secretary]



Tel: +91 9435072356 / +91 6395627657 / +91 8219423966


  • Whatsapp
bottom of page